Circuit Paul-Ricard (83)

Circuit Paul-Ricard (83)

The circuit Paul-Ricard or circuit of the Castellet, is a motor racing circuit French located in the department of Var near the common Signs and Castellet.

The circuit was born in 1970 under the leadership of Paul Ricard with the advice of Jean-Pierre Beltoise and a few other experts in motor sport.

Designated the First Center of Excellence by the FIA institute for motor sport safety, 2005, homologated by the FIA in 2006, the circuit has re-opened its doors to the public in 2009 and now hosts events motor racing and bike, as well as runs a number of clubs and marketing operations.

The path, of oblong form, is characterized by the long straight line of the Mistral. Long (1.8 km), it can be altered by the chicane north was built in 1986. Another feature of the trail is its flatness of the fact of its construction on a platter. Thus, its altitude varies from 408 to 441 meters.

The length of the path in its configuration F1 is 5,861 km ; this is the longest configuration of the circuit, the shorter it 826 m. The circuit has a total of 167 possible configuration. This number rare and high combinations can be explained by the fact that the circuit is very often used for tests ; tests which are favoured by the climate, especially in winter where it is mild. Note that the route of 3.8 km is most often used for tests of single-seaters.

Finally, one of the traits treated as part of the circuit is its areas of asphalt covered with strips of abrasive surface of the colours blue and red. They are made up of a mixture of asphalt and tungsten, and offer levels of abrasiveness different. Barriers Tecpro are placed at the end of these areas of clearances, in place of the usual rows of tyres on the other circuits permanent.

Circuit Paul-Ricard (83)

Circuit Paul-Ricard (83)

Le circuit Paul-Ricard ou circuit du Castellet, est un circuit automobile français situé dans le département du Var près des communes de Signes et du Castellet.

Le circuit est né en 1970 sous l'impulsion de Paul Ricard avec les conseils de Jean-Pierre Beltoise et quelques autres spécialistes du sport automobile.

Désigné Premier Centre d'Excellence par l'institut de la FIA pour la sécurité en sport automobile en 2005, homologué par la FIA en 2006, le circuit a rouvert ses portes au public en 2009 et accueille désormais des épreuves de compétition automobile et moto, ainsi que des roulages de clubs et des opérations marketing.

Le tracé, de forme oblongue, est caractérisé par la longue ligne droite du Mistral. Longue de 1,8 km, elle peut être altérée par la chicane nord construite en 1986. Une autre caractéristique du tracé est sa platitude du fait de sa construction sur un plateau. Ainsi, son altitude oscille de 408 à 441 mètres.

La longueur du tracé dans sa configuration F1 est de 5,861 km ; c'est d'ailleurs la plus longue configuration du circuit, la plus courte mesure elle 826 m. Le circuit offre au total 167 configuration possibles. Ce nombre rare et élevé de combinaisons s'explique par le fait que le circuit est très souvent utilisé pour des tests ; tests favorisés par le climat, notamment en hiver où il est doux. À noter que le tracé de 3,8 km est le plus souvent utilisé pour les essais de monoplaces.

Enfin, un des traits assimilés au circuit est ses zones de dégagement en asphalte couvertes de bandes de surface abrasive de couleurs bleu et rouge. Elles sont constituées d'un mélange d'asphalte et de tungstène et offrent des niveaux d'abrasivité différents. Des barrières Tecpro sont placées à l'extrémité de ces zones de dégagements, en lieu et place des habituelles rangées de pneumatiques sur les autres circuits permanents.